How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 98.

03Aug14

Sometimes you get to a fork in the road and have to decide which way to go. You make a decision and move on. Is it ever healthy to wonder what would have happened if you went the other way?

In 1997, I was presenting the Breakfast Show on 2CRFM, the local commercial radio station for Dorset and Hampshire. I was contacted by a bloke who was the number two in charge of programming at a very big broadcasting group. I had a meeting with him in London one day and he told me that he liked what I did on the air.

He got in touch with me weeks later and took me to dinner at a restaurant in the New Forest. He said he’d picked somewhere out of the way because he didn’t want us to be seen. Over dinner, he told me that he wanted me to work for the company. There was an opportunity coming up at one of their biggest radio stations, he asked if I was interested.

He wouldn’t tell me which station it was but did say it was a night-time show. Now, I had done nights at 2GO in Australia and while I enjoyed the intimacy of night-time radio and the unpredictability of the callers, I preferred to be on the Breakfast Show. A couple of days later, I told him, “no thanks”.

I don’t know how close I got to getting that job but I do know that the bloke that eventually did get it went on to become very successful. That show was eventually networked on many radio stations. Now he’s one of the biggest names on UK television. He’s also presented shows on US television.

So, it turns out that they got the right man for the job after all.

And I still do Breakfast radio.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like”. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

http://player.bobfm.co.uk/