Electoral Dysfunction

23May17

Vote

“Which way do you vote?”

The sales manager at work asked me that question in the middle of a crowded office today. Britain’s next general election is only weeks away, I suppose he was curious.

I told him it depends because I don’t have a brand loyalty. I approach voting the same way as I approach buying a new car. I look at my circumstances and choose the one that suits my lifestyle best at the time.

I used to drive a Porsche 911 but as it got older, I found it was costing me too much to run, so now I’ve gone completely the other way, I drive a Japanese hybrid. If my circumstances change I may go back to a Porsche, until then I’ll stick with the fuel efficient Jap.  

I’m the same with politics. If a party comes out with a flashy new model and promises it’ll make my life better, I might go that way. If I do and then realise it was all hype or it ends up costing me more money in the long run, I’ll go a different way next time. If I like what they’ve done, when the time comes to choose, I might go with that brand again.  

And really, the most sensible way to look at politicians is to give them the same respect you give used car salesmen.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at; 

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link.

