How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 232.

23Nov16

did

Was it a case of mistaken identity or was I on the air with an idiot?

In 2002, I was the presenter of the Breakfast Show on 106 Century FM in Nottingham. I was invited to appear as a guest on a hospital radio show. I was told it was their version of Desert Island Discs, you know the Radio 4 show where a “castaway” selects the songs they would take with them to a desert island.

I can’t remember which songs I chose in advance but I do remember having a story to tell that related to each one. When the show started, the DJ introduced me and said, “As Graham is here, we HAVE to play this…” and then played a track from one of Steve Penk’s CDs of wind-up calls.

I don’t remember him playing any of the songs I’d selected but I know he kept playing loads of Steve Penk tracks.

Maybe he thought that I was an actor and I played the role of Steve Penk on the radio.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6am and 9am (UK time) this week on BOB fm

