How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 227.

15Oct16

I’ve never understood the point of mascots. If a sport needs to have an adult walking around in a foam suit to make it entertaining, maybe the sport isn’t that exciting to start with.

There’s a new comedy film on Netflix, set in the world of sports mascots, called ‘Mascots’. It reminded me of a radio station I worked at once that had a mascot.

In 1994, I was the Breakfast Show host at 5SE Mount Gambier in South Australia. The station mascot was “Sammy the Seagull”. Thankfully, I only ever saw Sammy in action at one event. It was a family day at a race meeting. I remember it was the General Manager, Steve Whelan who was inside the suit that day. The story I heard was that he didn’t think anyone knew how to be Sammy properly so he did it himself.

I’m not sure why 5SE had a seagull as a mascot. I don’t think it was a well thought out idea. At events that are usually full of families enjoying a day out, why would you choose the animal that people were trying to avoid the most in case it swooped down on them and stole their lunch or pooped on them?

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6am and 9am (UK time) this week on BOB fm.

