How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 226.

12Sep16

The story of Hillary Clinton collapsing reminds me of when a politician collapsed in front of me while I was interviewing them for the BBC.

In 2012, I was the host of the Breakfast Show on Swindon’s BBC Wiltshire. One day after my show, I was sent to cover the opening of a filling station for hydrogen fuel cell cars at the Honda plant in Swindon.

I was recording an interviewed with Garry Perkins, the Deputy Leader of the Council. Suddenly all of the colour drained from his face and he hit the deck. I turned off the FlashMic recorder, called for help and luckily he was fine, he’d just had a funny turn. He went home after that so I didn’t get chance to finish the interview.

Once it was clear he was alright, I carried on and recorded interviews with other people on the day. When I got back to the radio station later that afternoon, I handed the FlashMic to a producer so he could edit it. As I’d worked the early shift, it was now time for me to go home, so I left for the day and didn’t give it another thought.

The next day, the producer wanted to know why the Deputy Leader of the Council had suddenly decided to stop answering my questions and stormed off.

What he’d heard on the recording was me asking a question followed by a long pause then me saying, “Garry? Garry?” and then the recording ended.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6am and 9am (UK time) this week on BOB fm.

 

