How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 224.

04Aug16

In May 2010 we moved to Swindon because I was hired to present “The Graham Mack Breakfast Show” on Swindon’s BBC Wiltshire. It was a lot of fun and I worked with some great people, including two of the best journalists and producers in the business, Richard Crowley and Kate Mundy.

It was the first time I’d presented a news based talk show, no songs, no commercials. The ratings were kind to me. BBC Wiltshire went from a 4.7% share when I got there, to an 8% share by the time I left and I won some nice awards; Golds for “Breakfast Show of the Year” at the Sony Radio Academy Awards and “Best Programme Presenter” at the Gillard Awards. I was also a finalist as “Best Talk Show Host” and got a Bronze for “Best Radio Personality”at the New York Festivals International Radio Awards.

Here’s some of my favourite moments…

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6am and 9am (UK time) this week on BOB fm.

