Scoping for a Tie

05Jun16

You can always have fun when a misconception causes insecurity.

My friends, Martyn and Emma, got married in Dorset on Bank Holiday Monday and Julie & I were invited. They’ve been together for almost twenty years, so the wedding was a very casual affair in a nice hotel at the seaside. Unless you were the groom, it wasn’t the kind of wedding you’d wear a tie to.

On the drive down, Julie took this picture of me and put it on Facebook.

File_000 (1)

I’m not wearing a tie but my friend Richie, saw the picture and freaked out. He was already on the South Coast. He commented on Facebook, “Is he wearing a tie? I haven’t got one…!”

At this stage, I COULD have told Julie to reply with, “No I’m not wearing a tie, it’s not that formal, don’t worry about it.” but I decided to go with, “You CAN’T go to a wedding ceremony without a tie!”

He replied “hmm…”

That’s when I knew, I’d got him.

Julie’s Facebook message sent Richie off into a tie shopping frenzy. There was only about an hour to go before the ceremony. It can’t be easy to find a shop that sells ties suitable for a wedding in a seaside resort on a bank holiday, especially when you’re as frugal as Richie.

He eventually found a tie in a charity shop run by Scope. It cost him £1.50, even though it had what looked like a soup stain on it.

When he saw me walk in, five minutes before the wedding and noticed I wasn’t wearing a tie and realised that, apart from the groom, he was the only bloke that was wearing one, the look on his face was priceless.

Here’s a photo of the two of us at the wedding. Richie is the one wearing the second hand tie.

FullSizeRender (3)

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6am and 9am (UK time) this week on BOB fm.

