The Seaport of Short

20Apr16

You can tell how much Liverpudlians like you by how short your name gets.

Scousers go beyond just dropping your last name and start abbreviating your first name. In other parts of the world, it’s not uncommon for Stuart to become, “Stu” or David to become “Dave” but on Merseyside, Steve, which is already an abbreviated version of Steven becomes “Stee”.

I’ve just spent six weeks at BBC Radio Merseyside and knew I’d been accepted when I started to get called “Gray”.

Liverpudlians can even shorten names that you might think can’t get any shorter. Last week, I heard a bloke called Ian, being called, “E”.

Maybe next time I’m back up there I’ll just get called, “Gr”!

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6am and 9am (UK time) this week on BOB fm.

