How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 214.

03Apr16

“Most of the things I do are misunderstood. Hey, after all, being misunderstood is the fate of all true geniuses, is it not?” That quote comes from Howard Stern in his movie Private Parts. Maybe it’s a broadcasting thing, since I got into radio, I’ve constantly been misunderstood, right from the very start.

In 1993, I got my first full time radio job. I presented the 2pm to 7pm show, weekdays on “Hits & Memories 2PK” in the Central West of New South Wales, Australia. Although I didn’t go on the air till 2pm, I had to be in the radio station for 11am. The first thing I did each day was prep for my show by going through the newspaper (no internet back then). I was looking for interesting things to talk about. I’d start with the local paper, the Champion Post, then have a look in the Sydney Telegraph-Mirror and the Sydney Morning Herald. I’d spend about half an hour doing that and then get on with the other stuff I had to do at the radio station like voicing and producing commercials and writing public service announcements.

Every week, I was given more and more off-air things to do, including going out and meeting advertisers and writing commercials for them. Eventually my three off-the-air hours each day weren’t enough to get everything done. I had so much on my plate, I didn’t have time to prep my show and was having to do that at home before I got to work.

When I mentioned this to my boss one day, he was shocked. He thought I didn’t have enough to do so they’d kept giving me more and more work so I wouldn’t be bored and end up sitting at my desk reading the papers.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you want to respond to anything I’ve written, tweet me; @GrahamMack 

