Off The Hook

03Jan16

The great philosopher, Kenny Rogers, once said, “you’ve got to know when to hold’em, know when to fold ’em, know when to walk away and know when to run.”

That comes from the opening remarks of an audio seminar I listened to once by Herb Cohen. Herb is widely regarded as one of the world’s best negotiators. He’s written a few books on the topic (You Can Negotiate Anything and Negotiate This!).

I was thinking of Herb and Kenny when I got a call from my telephone provider the other day. They were calling to discuss the amount of compensation they’d pay me for messing me about over Christmas.

We changed landline telephone providers on 17th December. From that moment on, we couldn’t receive calls, so no one could call us at home over Christmas. The biggest inconvenience is that we live in a block of flats and the intercom system to let people into the building is connected to the phone. Without a phone we have no idea if there’s anyone at the front door. That meant that in the run up to Christmas, all of the stuff we bought online that was supposed to be delivered, wasn’t. We had to drive to various depots all over town to pick them up.

I was on to the “customer care” line every day, two engineers visited us and it turned out that our number hadn’t been ported across from our previous provider. For whatever reason, porting our number became impossible and they ended up having to give us a brand new phone number, which went live on New Year’s Eve. Thankfully with the new number, everything is working again.

I complained about the mess via email and when they phoned me I asked how much compensation I was due. The bloke on the other end of the phone said they were prepared to go as high as £17.99 to cover a month’s line rental.

I told him that wasn’t anywhere near good enough and £100 would be more like it. He said he’d call me back.

Yesterday, he called back and said they would up their offer to £65.

I suppose I could have held out for more but thanks to Herb Cohen and Kenny Rogers, I decided to take it and ‘walk away’. When the contract with them is up in twelve months, I’ll run!

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

 

