How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 211.

23Dec15

You never know where you’ll end up unless you just take a punt and start something.

In 2011, I was working as Breakfast Show Host on BBC Wiltshire. One day on the show, I interviewed Gavin Jones, the Chief Executive of Swindon Borough Council. During my research, I discovered that he played lead guitar, so I snuck a guitar and amp into the studio and at the end of the interview challenged him to play live on the air.

He did just that and to my surprise was really good! Then I said, “We should form a band!” Next thing you know, Gavin is the lead guitar player in The Graham Mack Rock Band.

We decided that all of the money we made would go to charity. Twelve months later, we had raised over £22,000 for local charities.

This video was shot at our second gig, which we did in Swindon Town Centre on 23rd April 2011.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

 

