Sweet FA!

15Oct15

“I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it”. When the English writer, Evelyn Beatrice Hall wrote those words in 1903, she pretty much summed up what free speech is all about.

I hardly ever agree with the Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho, but I think he’s been treated badly by the FA who have given him a suspended one match stadium ban & a fine of £50,000 for suggesting match officials were biased when he spoke to the press recently.

For this to happen in 2015 in the land that gave the world Magna Carta is nothing short of a disgrace. Sport is all about opinions, if people aren’t allowed to express their opinions where are we heading? Mourinho wasn’t being racist, sexist, homophobic or offensive. Instead of denying what Mourinho accused them of, the FA have sent a clear message to anyone who disagrees with them that you must never question their motives.

Surely you would only do that if you had something to hide! Why do they care what Jose Mourinho says about them? It’s Mourinho! He says crazy stuff all of the time! My favourite was when he said, “If I had wanted to be protected in a quiet job, I could have stayed at Porto. I would have been second, after God, in the eyes of the fans even if I had never won another thing.”

Lord Acton hit the nail on the head in 1887 when he wrote “Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely”. The only organizations that shut down free speech and refuse to be challenged, especially when that challenge comes from someone no-one takes seriously anyway, are corrupt organizations.

Who do the FA think they are, FIFA?

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

