How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 201.

10Oct15

It’s always fun when you embarrass the competition.

Commercial radio is very competitive. From a sales point of view our ‘product’ is listeners, that’s what we sell to advertisers. It’s a zero sum game, for the ratings on my radio station to go up, someone else’s have to go down. That can lead to some fun and games.

At one radio station where I was the Program Director and Breakfast Show host, I was checking out a competing radio station’s website and decided to enter one of their online competitions. Their Program Director noticed my email and replied with a “nice try Graham” email. I knew he lived near me, so I invited him out for a curry.

We got on great and had a nice chat over dinner. As we were having coffee, one of the other customers who’d been staring at me most of the night came over and said, “Excuse me, are you Graham Mack?”

It was brilliant, I’m with the bloke who’s in charge of a radio station I compete with most for listeners and she came over and said that IN FRONT OF HIM! Then she leaned across the table and said to him, “Are you famous too?”

It was so perfect and genuine but I bet he thinks I set the whole thing up!

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

