Mind Games.

30Aug15

I got a fright this week.

About three weeks ago my dad was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. His brother’s got it and before they died, his two sisters had it. I’m worried that it might run in the family, so I got Julie to book me an appointment for me to see my doctor.

Fast forward to lunchtime on Monday. I was at home checking my online calendar and noticed the doctor’s appointment was in there for 2pm. It was already past 1pm, I’d forgotten all about it!

Julie was working a half day that day and came home as I was going out of the door. She said, “Where are you going?”, I said, “The doctors!” She said, “Was that today?” I kissed her and said, “I’m so glad YOU’VE forgotten as well!”

Craic on!

In 2009, ‘Living With Dementia Magazine’ featured an article from Nick Fox, Honorary Consultant Neurologist at the Institute of Neurology in London. He wrote, “Many people fear that Alzheimer’s disease in the family may be passed on to children and grandchildren. In the vast majority (99 per cent) of cases, this is not so”. 

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at; 

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

