How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 192.

23Aug15

“The reasonable man adapts himself to the conditions that surround him… The unreasonable man adapts surrounding conditions to himself… All progress depends on the unreasonable man.” – George Bernard Shaw.

In 1994, I was the host of the Breakfast Show on 5SE in South Australia. I used to have to read live commercials for a local supermarket. It was just a list of items that were on special and their prices. I thought it was boring so I used to mess with the scripts, making bad jokes about the products. One day the manager of the supermarket called me. I thought he was going to complain and make me read the scripts the way they were written, the way that everybody else on the radio station read them on the air.

What he said surprised me, he said he LOVED what I was doing. He asked me if I could do the same thing on TV.

The result was a series of terrible telly adverts. I think they’re rubbish but the manager said that when they were broadcast, they really worked so what do I know?

I ended up making at least thirty of them, here’s a taste;

I was surprised that messing about with live copy on the radio would lead to television work. What happened next was an even bigger surprise. More on that in another Craic.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

