How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 190.

18Aug15

You don’t realise how many people don’t have a right hand until you try to shake hands with 100,000 people.

That’s what I did between July 2006 and May 2010. It was a ‘meet every listener’ type stunt when I was the Breakfast Presenter at TFM Radio in the North East.

ARichard Hammond and Graham MackAJack Charlton - TFM MACS Ball 2007

I gave everyone I shook hands with a numbered card that said, “You’re one in one hundred thousand, thanks for the shake!” The first hand I shook was a newborn baby on the maternity ward at the James Cook University Hospital. There were other photo opportunities along the way including any celebrities that came to town. I shook hands with loads of them including Richard Hammond, Jack Charlton and Prince Edward.

APrince EdwardI’ve got to say the novelty had well and truly worn off after about the first twelve months. I lost count of how many stumps I shook and became an expert on spotting kids that had coughed or sneezed into their right hand just before reaching out for a shake.

Next time, I’ll do 100,000 fist bumps!

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

