How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 188.

13Aug15

The show did go on!

One day in 2007, The Graham Mack Blues Band were booked to play at Mr Kyps in Poole, Dorset. The only problem was, I was living over 300 miles away in the North East and the musicians that made up the band there, weren’t available on that night.

I called Hugh Budden, he’s a harmonica player who lives in Poole. I’d worked with him before, he’s one of the best in Britain. I told him about my problem and he said he could help. Hugh was friends with a South Coast based blues band called “The Juju Men”. He made some calls and it turned out they could do the gig. The big problem was, I’d never met The Juju Men and we couldn’t play a two-hour set without a rehearsal.  

I sent the guys a list of the songs we’d be playing on the night, the key each one was in and a CD of a gig I’d played with my North East based musicians. The plan was to get to the venue at lunch time, set up, rehearse all afternoon then play the gig that night.

It was a crazy idea but it worked. It turned out to be a really nice gig and pretty good for a group of blokes who’d never played together before. In fact most of us, had never even met each other before!

Check out this video from the night to see and hear how we did.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

