How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 180.

25Jul15

The thing I liked most about living in the North East was the people. There was a straight talking, no-nonsense, practicality to them.

In 2006 when I presented the Breakfast show on TFM on Teesside. The Euromillions lottery jackpot went to over a hundred million pounds. I asked people to call in to the show and tell me what they would spend the money on if they won.

One lady called and said she’d buy a new car. I asked her what she’d buy. I thought she’d pick something like a Lamborghini, Porsche or Ferrari but no, she said if she won a hundred million pounds, she’d buy a Citroen!

A similar thing happened when Liam McGough, one of the contestants on Big Brother won £100,000 on the Channel 4 show. He was from County Durham, so we tracked down his father and called him on the air. Liam had said he was going to spend the money on is family so we asked his dad what he’d like Liam to buy for him. His dad said, “Well I’ve got me eye on a couple of pigeons”.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

