How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 169.

06Jun15

Commercial radio in Australia is more cutthroat than here in the UK. It took me a while to adjust. In Australia, winning at all costs is the only goal. Unfortunately, not all of the bosses I’ve worked for in the UK appreciate that.

For your radio station’s ratings to go up, someone else’s have to go down. One of the ways to achieve this is to get a rival station to focus on your station instead of their listeners. I know of one Australian radio station that hired a psychologist to listen to a competitor’s Breakfast Show presenter to find out what would wind him up the most and then used that in their negative on-air campaign against him. They even went as far as to find his estranged wife and put her on the air. In the promos she says, “I don’t listen to him anymore, and I’m married to him!” The presenter took the bait, stopped super serving his listeners and focused on the competition. Sure enough, his ratings went down.

When I was the Program Director of 2CR FM on England’s South Coast. A new regional licence was awarded to a station called “Original 106”. The day the licence was awarded, I found out that they hadn’t bought the internet domain names “Original106.com” or “Original106.co.uk” so I bought both names. I set up websites using those names that diverted you straight to the 2CR website.

I knew the bosses of Original 106 would be furious when they found out what I’d done. They were but I didn’t expect to get a phone call from the big boss of the large group that owned 2CR. He told me to give up the domain names so Original 106 could use them.

The thing that disappoints me the most is that the people in charge of Original 106 didn’t contact me directly, they went straight to my boss. Maybe that’s just another difference between the UK and Australia.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

