How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 168.

01Jun15

You can tell a lot about a person by the nickname they are given behind their back.

I once had a boss who, to this day, is the most dishonest person I’ve ever met. Even when he got caught in a lie, he would say, “Oh I do apologize!” He never actually said the word, “sorry”.

I knew I was in trouble the first time he accused me of doing something I hadn’t done. When I explained to him what had actually gone on he said, “Let’s not get bogged down by the facts” (I wish I was joking but that is word for word).

He was a regional boss who looked after a number of radio stations. I don’t know where he was based, all I know is that he would show up unannounced at my radio station about twice a month and stay for most of the day. The more time I spent with him, the more I realised he knew very little about running a radio station.

He was a master at survival and would stay just close enough to things so that if a radio station’s ratings went up, he could claim the credit, but was just far enough away so that if they went down, he could blame others. The big bosses higher up were completely taken in by him. For the people who worked for him, it was a nightmare. One extremely experienced and well respected bloke I know got so stressed, all of his hair fell out.

It was because of him I left that station. That must have been his goal. I’m pretty sure he knew I could see through him. He once told me he thought I was too clever for my own good. He re-jigged the way I was paid so I was worse off and gave me a written warning once for taking a week’s holiday. I hadn’t gone absent without leave, HE was the one who had approved my time off in writing.

Later, I found out that his M.O. was the same at every radio station he was responsible for. No one knew when he was going to swoop, he’d show up, shit on a lot of people and then leave. For that reason he was known as “The Seagull”.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at;

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

