How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 143.

05Jan15

In 2002, an amazing coincidence occurred at 106 Century FM in the East Midlands that helped me briefly fool most of the staff there.

At the time, there was more bed hopping at the radio station than at a 70s key party. The partner of one of the presenters worked in sales and had cheated on them with one of the sales team, another presenter was in a live-in relationship with a local TV reporter but was sleeping with the head of promotions at the radio station behind their back, one of the married sports reporters was sleeping with one of the un-married promotions team and another member of the sports team was sleeping with the receptionist.

In 2002, a new Marketing manager was appointed. Her name was Julie Halford. Not long after she started, I announced, live on the Breakfast Show that I was sleeping with Julie Halford.

There were gasps from my co-hosts, they’d worked with me long enough to work out that I wasn’t kidding.

What they didn’t realise at the time was that my wife’s maiden name was ‘Julie Halford’. She’s no relation to the Julie Halford that worked at 106 Century FM.

I’d been sleeping with Julie Halford for a long time before Julie Halford worked at Century. So far, I’ve been sleeping with Julie Halford for almost twenty-eight years and will be sleeping with Julie Halford again tonight.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at 

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

