How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 142.

03Jan15

In 2001 I learned a great lesson about perspective.

I made a series of programs for Carlton Television called “Trading Places”, which went out on ITV. They took people from different walks of life and gave them a disability for a week.

As I work with sound, they made me deaf. It’s actually difficult to make you totally deaf but they managed to take away about 80% of my hearing by putting moulded plugs in my ears.

Along the way, I met a lot of great people from the deaf community and learned a little bit of sign language. Some of the people I met had a really positive way of looking at deafness. They told me that they object to being called disabled. In their community they don’t have any disabilities, communication isn’t a problem.

They said they just belong to a minority language group.

Craic on!

You can watch Trading Places Here;

Part 1:

Part 2:

Part 3:

Part 4:

Part 5:

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at 

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

