How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 140.

21Dec14

Sometimes you’ve just got to ask.

I found myself in a tricky situation in 2001. I still had about a year to run on my contract at BRMB in Birmingham. I was out of favour there and had been moved to weekends. A deal I’d negotiated a couple of years earlier meant I was now being paid a stupid amount of money for working three hours a day, two days a week. BRMB was owned by Capital Radio, who had just bought 106 Century FM in the East Midlands. Century offered me the weekday Breakfast Show but the money was nowhere near as good as what I would get if I stuck it out at BRMB.

So, do I take the money and work two days a week in Birmingham and then face having nothing at the end of the year or do I take a big pay cut and sign a two year deal with Century which, if it went well, could get my career back on track?

I suggested a solution that I never thought in a million years they’d go for. I asked BRMB to pay me the difference as a lump sum upfront before I signed for Century. This was a serious amount of money, more than the average price of a terraced house in Mansfield at the time.

Incredibly, they agreed to the deal and wrote me a cheque.

Craic on!

You can hear what I sounded like back then, including my last show on BRMB here;

http://grahammack1.podomatic.com/entry/2013-12-28T02_32_16-08_00

And listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at 

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

