How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 127.

05Nov14

My first three months at BRMB went well on the air but badly off the air. My boss and I were not communicating.

It was 1999, I was presenting the 9am till noon show. Every morning before my airshift, I finished prepping the show in the open plan office in the old building in Aston. The boss arrived about half an hour before I went on the air, ignored me, unlocked his office, went in and closed the door. I was miserable.

Then one morning, instead of ignoring me, he walked right up to me and said, “You and I had better go for lunch when you get off the air today”.

I’d heard that was how he sacked people. He took them to lunch, told them they were fired and they never returned to the building. As I still had fifteen months left to go on my contract and hadn’t done anything wrong, I thought it was my lucky day. I didn’t like working for him, so being fired was perfect because they would have to pay off what I was owed and I’d be free to go and work somewhere else.

We went to lunch and what he said to me in Cafe Rouge was so unexpected that I laughed my head off in the car all the way home.

Find out exactly what he said in another Craic.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at 

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

