How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 114.

24Sep14

“You’re going to be working for the Mafia now!”

That’s what my boss at Century Radio in the North East said to me the day I left to go and work on the air at BRMB in Birmingham in March 1999. BRMB was owned by Capital Radio.

What did he mean? Was he comparing Capital to an organised crime dynasty? Did he think it was run by some kind of “Godfather” who treated loyal employees with kindness and benevolence and was prone to acts of unspeakable violence towards anyone who disrespected him?

I hope not because they had just made me an offer I couldn’t refuse.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at 

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

