How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 113.

21Sep14

I’m always amazed when I have the misfortune of working for dishonest people. They always get caught in a lie but just keep going, long after they must know I’ve worked them out.

I was once offered a job at a radio station hundreds of miles away from where we were living at the time. The boss sucked me in with a load of promises he ended up not keeping. At the time I had no reason to believe he was dodgy, so quit the job I had and we moved.

The first thing he told me was that because we were moving such a long way, the radio station would pay for us to stay in a hotel for two weeks while we found somewhere to live. He told us which hotel it was and we were chuffed when we found out it was such a posh one. The day we checked in though, the hotel said they had no reservation in our name and they knew nothing about any arrangement with the radio station. I called my new boss and he said something about a misunderstanding and that I should just put it on my credit card and he’d straighten it all out.

Every day I worked there he told me my contract was on it’s way but I never ended up seeing it and never had one for the whole time I worked there.

The show I presented was a daytime shift and he told me he really wanted to increase the day-time listening figures. I went home and did some research about daytime radio listening. I found out that the key was getting people to listen at work. I came up with an at-work listening feature that involved a contest and a chance to win goodies delivered to your workplace. It was called, “The Workplace Shout”. I typed out how it all worked, with figures and graphs showing how increasing workplace listening hours translated into higher ratings, put it all in a folder and handed it to him the next day.

After I’d worked there for three months with no contract and a large credit card bill for fourteen nights in a four star hotel that still hadn’t been re-funded, even though I’d given him all the receipts and asked him about the refund and contract every day, I booked a meeting with the big boss.

The big boss told me that he’d been told that I’d agreed to take the job on a non-contract basis and no promise of hotel accommodation had ever been made.

I actually think the big boss was a decent bloke but had been conned by the dodgy character I’d ended up working for. He said that because they were happy with the work I was doing he’d arrange for a me to get a refund on the hotel (which to be fair he did and I got the money the following month). He then went on to tell me about a brand new feature that my boss had come up with called “The Workplace Shout”.

I swear I heard the Psycho music in my head. It was now very clear that I was working for an extremely dodgy boss and the big boss had no idea!

Three months later I got a better job at a much bigger radio station and quit. I can still remember what that dodgy boss said to me on my last day. He said, “It’s a shame you’re leaving, we had big stuff planned for you!” I thought to myself, if this “Big Stuff” is anything like what you’ve been telling me since I’ve been here, you’ve got the initials right!

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at 

http://www.mackmedia.co.uk/8th-mack-nuggets-audio-video

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

