How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 109.

03Sep14

John Motson owes me money.

In 1998 I was the presenter of the Breakfast Show on 2CRFM on England’s South Coast. Friday’s shows were done in front of a live studio audience. Those lucky enough to get tickets were given a cooked breakfast thanks to a local hotel and booze from a local pub. One Friday morning I was chatting to our barman, Gee, and he said, “John Motson was in the pub last night”. After confirming he was talking about THE John Motson, the BBC football commentator, we decided that Motty must be staying locally, we had to find him and get him on the air before the end of the show.

We put appeals out and within an hour we’d tracked him down to the Yenton Hotel in Bournemouth. I called them on the air and at first they didn’t want to put him on the phone. After giving out the hotel’s phone number and getting listeners to keep calling and setting up a vigil outside with my side-kick Richie Firth on a megaphone, eventuality John Motson called and we chatted on the air for a bit.

At the time, local team AFC Bournemouth were due to play Grimsby at Wembley in the final of the Auto Windscreens Shield. I bet John a fiver that Grimsby would beat them, which is what happened.

I haven’t heard a thing from Jon Motson since.

Craic on!

You can hear the Full Motty and other bits from back then, here; 

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

