How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 105.

23Aug14

I was always suspicious of people who said they didn’t drink.

I thought teetotallers must be hiding a dark secret. They must have been involved in a shameful or embarrassing incident with tragic consequences that were caused by them drinking too much. I also wondered why they had to stop all together. Why didn’t they just cut back a bit?

That all changed in 1998. I was the presenter of the Breakfast Show on 2CRFM on England’s South Coast. When you wake up before 4am, lunch time is like dinner time so over lunch I’d have a couple of drinks. Then I’d have a sleep and in the early evening I’d go through some audio and write stuff for the next day’s show. One day I had a lot of work to do so decided to skip the drink and the sleep and just crack on. I was amazed at how much work I got done. It was all because I hadn’t had a drink.

Then I tried to think back to the last time I had gone without alcohol for a whole day. It wasn’t yesterday or the day before, it wasn’t any day last week or the week before that. It suddenly dawned on me that I couldn’t remember the last time I’d gone a full twenty-four hours without a drink. That scared me, did I have a problem? The only way to find out was to go another day and see what happened. If I was climbing the walls then I’d know that I’d have to get help.

Day two was a breeze. I was getting a lot more done and had a great night’s sleep. Julie said I’d stopped snoring. Could I do seven days?

During that week, there was a Liverpool game on Sky so we went to watch it at a pub in Bournemouth with some friends. Usually than meant getting a bus into town and then trying to get a taxi home afterwards. This time, I took the car and parked right outside. When we wanted to go home, we just walked outside, got in the car and were off.

Every morning I woke up without a hang-over. That’s handy when your job is to present a Breakfast radio show. There are some jobs where you can lie low for the first couple of hours but when that red light goes on in the studio at 6am, you have to be sharp.

I started to think back to all of the best days I’d ever had. The day I passed my driving test, my wedding day, getting my first job in radio. I realised that none of the best times of my life had been made great because of alcohol. 

After a month went by, I felt amazing and realised that I’d been wasting my time with drink for years.

Now that I was sleeping better and getting more things done, I wasn’t as stressed out, I became a nicer person. Julie noticed, she said to me, “What is it with you lately, are you ON something?” I said, “No, I’m OFF something”.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

