How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 101.

11Aug14

I don’t miss newspapers. Maybe I’m not that bothered by their demise because one of them set me up and then turned on me in 1998.

I was the presenter of the Breakfast Show at 2CR FM on England’s South Coast. Not long after I got there, the local rag got in touch and asked if I would review new music releases for a column they were about to start. They agreed that the column would feature my name and the logo of the radio station. This seemed to me like a great way to have a better relationship with the paper who, up until then had only described us as, “a local radio station” (breaking journalism’s first rule of, “Who, what, where, when, why and how”).

A photographer turned up one day and told me they wanted to take head shots of me pulling different faces. They said each face would be used in the column to match the mood of the piece I had written about each song. If I really liked a song, they could use a picture of me smiling but if I’d said something bad, they could use an angry picture or puzzled or one of me screwing my face up. So I mugged for the camera pulling ridiculous faces to order, “Frown more, stick your tongue out, curl your top lip…”

No one ever got back to me about writing a column but months later when the paper printed a series of savage reviews of my (by then number one rated) show, each article came complete with a photo of me pulling a stupid face.

The only good thing I can say about that particular newspaper is that it was absorbent.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

