How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 100.

07Aug14

RIP MIKE SMITH

Last week, I heard the very sad news that former Radio 1 DJ Mike Smith had died aged 59.

Mike Smith pointed the way to what became my radio journey even though I never met him or ever heard him present a radio show. When he was at the peak of his radio career in Britain, I was living in New Zealand.

Every couple of years, Television New Zealand held a 24 hour fundraiser called Telethon. They invited celebrities from overseas to take part as guest presenters. For the 1988 Telethon, the presenters included Leeza Gibbons from the US show ‘Entertainment This Week’, Chris Quinten, the Coronation Street actor and Mike Smith.

In the lead up to the actual Telethon broadcast, I heard Mike being interviewed one night on the radio. He was asked if he had any advice for someone who was thinking about getting into broadcasting. I remember him saying that if you listen to the radio and think to yourself, “I could do that, then you should just give it a go”.

This is part 100 of my radio story. If you go back to Part 1, you’ll see that it all started for me a few years after I heard Mike’s advice. I was in my air-conditioning work van, stuck in traffic listening to the radio and thought to myself, “I could do that”.

https://grahammack.wordpress.com/2013/10/21/ticket-to-ryde-3/

Thanks Mike.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

