How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 99.

05Aug14

When I touched him, he was cold, stiff and very dead. I didn’t know it at the time, but he wouldn’t be the last.

In 1998 I was the presenter of the Breakfast Show on 2CRFM in Bournemouth. Julie and I were living in a nice flat in Westbourne. On my way out to work one morning, as I made my way downstairs, I noticed the old bloke who lived in the flat below us, lying in the hallway just outside his front door. I asked if he was alright and when he didn’t answer, I picked up his telephone which was just inside the door and dialled 999.

I told the operator that my neighbour had collapsed and she asked me if I knew CPR. When I reached out and touched him, I could tell he was dead.

I can’t remember if it was a stroke or a heart attack that killed him, there were no suspicious circumstances, it was just his time to go. It’s the only time I’ve ever touched a dead body, I hope it’s the last. Unfortunately, it wasn’t the last time a neighbour in the flat below would die unexpectedly.

Fast forward to 2002. I was presenting the Breakfast Show on 106 Century FM, the regional radio station for the East Midlands. We rented a top floor flat in a block in Nottingham. One night, in the early hours, we heard a hell of a racket. The next day we found out that the police and emergency services had broken down the door of the flat below. The old man who lived alone in there had called 999 because he was having a heart attack. When they got there, there was no answer and had to break in. Sadly, they didn’t make it in time.

If you live in the the flat below where we live at the moment. Right now might be a good time to get a check-up.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like” and tweet a link. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

http://player.bobfm.co.uk/

