How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 97.

30Jul14

If Julie didn’t like the experience of watching Liverpool at Anfield, I was in a lot of trouble.

Up until February 1997, we’d lived in New Zealand and Australia. Now, we’d moved to Britain because I’d got a job as the Breakfast Show host at 2CRFM in Bournemouth. In the ten years we’d been married, I’d schooled her in the ways of Liverpool. I’d shown her videos of the history of the club, made her stay up late and watch live finals on TV and shown her my grandfathers programs from every game in the FA Cup run of 1965 that led to us winning it for the first time and my Dad’s Cup Final programs from 71 and 74. On Saturday 25th October 1997 we took our seats in the “M.E.” section of the Main stand, almost level with the Anfield Road end penalty spot.

If Julie didn’t ‘get it’, the ten years I’d invested in her education would all have been for nothing. Now that I was living in England again, I planned to make many more trips to Anfield but if she wasn’t into it, I’d be making the ten hour round trip by myself.

Twenty-seven minutes into the first half, everything changed. Robbie Fowler buried the ball into the back of the net at the Anfield Road end. It was as if he knew how important this game was so waited till he was right in front of us, close to the penalty spot before shooting. Julie was sold and Robbie instantly became her favourite player.

We went on to win 4-0 thanks to goals from Leonhardsen, MacManaman and another one from Robbie at the Kop end.

Liverpool fans used to call Robbie Fowler, “God”. – Well he answered my prayers!

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

If you enjoyed this Craic, please click “like”. If you’d like to talk to me about it, call me on +44 1438 422106 between 6 and 9 weekday mornings (UK time) on BOB fm.

http://player.bobfm.co.uk/

