How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 87.

02Jul14

We waited ten weeks for our car to arrive in Britain by ship from Australia. When it got here, we weren’t allowed to drive it.

To “export” the car, we had to take the number plates off and hand them in. So when it arrived at Tilbury it had no plates. I managed to get insured to drive it but without a reg number, I couldn’t get a tax disc. I wasn’t allowed to apply for a reg number until I’d got all of the paperwork from the shipping company that said I’d picked up the car.

The car was now at the shipping company’s depot in Barking, that was 145 miles from where we lived in Bournemouth. How was I supposed to get there and how was I going to get the car back to Bournemouth? I called the local police and they made it quite clear that I wouldn’t be allowed to drive the car on the road without number plates and a tax disc.

I had no idea what I was going to do, so out of sheer desperation during my Breakfast Show on 2CRFM, I asked if anyone listening could help.

Find out how I got on and how I learned a valuable lesson about how radio works in another Craic.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk 

