How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 86.

30Jun14

Howard Stern once said, “Most of the things I do are misunderstood. Hey, after all, being misunderstood is the fate of all true geniuses, is it not?”

A recurring theme in my life is being misunderstood. Unlike Howard who was obviously talking about being misunderstood artistically, I am continually misunderstood by people in positions of authority.

When we moved back to Britain in February 1997, for the first ten weeks, our car was on a ship on the way over from Australia. I walked a mile each way to work, setting off before five every morning because I was the breakfast presenter at 2CR FM in Bournemouth.

It was COLD, we’d just come out of a very hot summer and didn’t own any proper winter clothes. The last time I walked this far to work at this time of day was two years earlier when I’d presented the Breakfast Show on 5SE in South Australia. Back then, we couldn’t afford a car but that was OK because one morning the local police spotted me and from then on gave me a lift to work in their police car every day.

One morning on my way to work in Bournemouth, the local cops stopped me. The questioning turned out to be much more aggressive than in Australia. They didn’t believe a word I said.

“You’re not from around here, are you?” – “Yes I am”.
“What’s the name of this road then?” – “I’ve no idea”.
“Where do you live?” – “Half a mile that way”.
“Have you got any proof of that on you?” – “No”.
“Why not?” – “I only moved there two days ago”.
“Where are you going at this time of night?” – “I’m on my way to work”.
“You’re shivering, why aren’t you dressed for this weather?” – “I’m from Australia”.
“Do you not drive?” – “Yes, I can drive”.
“Do you not own a car?” – “Yes, I’ve got a car”.
“Where is it right now?” – “I don’t know”.
“Why not?” – “Because it’s on a ship”.

Eventually, they let me go and although I did ask, they wouldn’t give me a lift.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

 

