How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain; Part 77.

03Jun14

My last show on the radio in Australia was very emotional.

In January 1997, I was offered my first radio job in Britain. I’d been presenting shows on commercial radio stations in Australia for the past three and a bit years and was hosting the night-time show on 2GO on the New South Wales Central Coast.  A few days after my final show, I’d be leaving the country because I’d accepted a job at 2CR in Bournemouth.

Usually when presenters leave radio stations, they just disappear with no fuss. At 2GO, they ran promos through the day advertising my last night on the air in Australia. The Breakfast Show presenters even recorded special songs and goodbye messages especially for the programme. It was a really nice thing to do, especially considering the fact that I’d only been on 2GO for about eighteen months.

Listen to highlights from my last nights in Australia including my last show, here:

http://grahammack1.podomatic.com/entry/2013-10-25T08_54_00-07_00

Craic on!

