How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 76.

01Jun14

By early 1997, I was pretty sure that I had failed in my first attempt to get a job on the radio in the UK.

I was presenting the night-time show on 2GO on the New South Wales Central Coast. 2CR in Bournemouth wrote to me, said they liked my demo and told me they were looking for a new Breakfast presenter. Instead of flying ten thousand miles each way for an interview, they said they’d get their consultant to interview me because he was based in Sydney.

The big problem was, I’d spoken to the Sydney radio consultant on the phone a few weeks earlier. I was looking for advice on how to get a job on the radio in the UK. He told me that my style wouldn’t work in Britain.

The General Manager at 2CR, Jeremy Lewis told me that the consultant would call me to set up a time when I could go and see him. A couple of days later, I got that call but instead of arranging a time and place, he just asked me about my radio experience and why I wanted to work at 2CR. Obviously, he was just going through the motions to keep his client happy before he recommended to them to look for someone else.

That night, Emma, the Program Controller at 2CR called me and offered me the job.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets here;

