How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 75.

28May14

When you’re playing long shots, you have to get used to losing more times than you win.

In late 1996, I was presenting the night-time show on 2GO on the New South Wales Central Coast and was trying to get an on air job in the UK.

The Sydney radio consultant I spoke to on the phone said my style wasn’t going to work on the air in Britain. He consulted a lot of radio stations in England so he knew a lot about radio there. Despite this set-back, I started sending demo tapes to British radio stations anyway. I got lucky, 2CR in Bournemouth wrote to me, said they liked my demo and told me they were looking for a new Breakfast presenter.

I knew that the Sydney consultant worked with the GWR group in England. They were the company that owned 2CR. I decided to call 2CR anyway. I hoped I could convince them to offer me the job on the phone before they had chance to talk to the consultant.

I made quite a few late night phone calls and talked over a few things with the General Manager, Jeremy Lewis and the Program Controller, Emma. They sounded great and I really thought I had a chance of landing the gig. Then Jeremy dropped a bombshell, “Obviously, you can’t come all this way for an interview. Our consultant is based in Sydney, I’ll get him to give you a call to set up a time when you can go and see him. He can interview you and report back to us”.

Oh well.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

