How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 74.

26May14

Sometimes you get lucky, other times luck goes against you. Now and again both happen at once and cancel each other out.

In late 1996, after three and a bit years working on commercial radio in Australia, I decided to see if I could get an on-air job in the UK. I found out that one of the big radio groups in Britain, GWR, used a consultant in Sydney. I contacted him and he told me that my style wasn’t really suited to British radio.

OK, so I wasn’t going to get a job on a GWR station but there were lots of commercial radio stations in Britain that weren’t owned by GWR. With no better plan, I decided to just send demo tapes out on spec and hope that maybe one of the stations I sent a tape to had a vacancy. It was a real long shot but I figured the more tapes I sent out, the shorter those long odds would get.

I found out that radio was regulated in Britain by The Radio Authority so I called them up one night and asked how I could get the contact details of every radio station in the UK. They posted me a booklet that listed them all, starting with the stations who’s name began with numbers followed by the rest of the stations in alphabetical order. I was going to send a demo tape to every radio station in Britain starting with the first one on the list, 2CR in Bournemouth.

Every day I sent two or three packages containing my demo, CV and photocopies of newspaper articles I’d been mentioned in. After about six weeks I got my first reply, it was from 2CR. I couldn’t believe it, my timing was perfect, they had a vacancy for a Breakfast Presenter!

My joy didn’t last long. When I did some research, I found out that 2CR was owned by GWR.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

