How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 73.

22May14

If you want to get on in life, it’s important to never let anyone else define what you’re capable of.

After three and a bit years on commercial radio in Australia, I decided to find out if it would be possible for me to work on the radio in England. In late 1996, I was presenting the night-time show on 2GO on the New South Wales Central Coast. I heard from an Australian mate of mine who worked on the air at Ram FM in Derbyshire that UK commercial radio was expanding. A company called GWR owned more than thirty British stations and they used Australian consultants.

I found out that the head office of the consultants they used was in Sydney so I sent them a demo tape. I followed it up a week later with a phone call. I asked the consultant if he thought my on-air style would work on the radio in the UK.

He said, “No”.

Craic on!

You can hear that style that wouldn’t work on the radio in the UK here;  

