How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 70.

14May14

I loved living in Australia and working on the radio there, I even became an Australian citizen, but to most Aussies, I was still a Pom.

I remember one night in 1996, when I presented the night-time show on 2GO on the New South Wales Central Coast. I took a phone call on the air from a bloke who was clearly very drunk. He slurred, “You bloody Pommies, BUGGERED this country!” I said, “What do you mean?” He said, “This was a great country till you lot came here with your bloody rabbits and your rats and your diseases! You bloody Pommies, you BUGGERED this country!”

I said, “I didn’t bring any of those things with me.” He shouted, “Not you, YOUR bloody Pommie ancestors, they buggered this county!” I said, “Hey, I wasn’t born here, my ancestors never left Britain. I think you’ll find, it was YOUR ancestors that “buggered” this country!”

I could tell by the silence on the other end of the phone that I’d confused him. Then in the background, just before I heard him fumble the phone back onto the receiver I heard, “bugger!”

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

