How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 67.

06May14

When radio stations change owners, you can guarantee there’ll be job losses. The easiest and quickest way to increase profit is to reduce costs.

While I was at 2GO on the New South Wales Central Coast, the radio station was bought by RG Capital, a company owned by the Australian media mogul, Reg Grundy. Not long after we were sold, the Grundy people (but not Reg) showed up and all of the staff were invited for drinks in the Go-Go room, a room which was part board room, part social club and bar.

The studios and offices of 2GO were in a purpose built facility on Henry Parry Drive, East Gosford. It was a really nice set-up, plenty of parking and it even had small landscaped gardens.

About seventy people worked there at the time, which for a commercial radio station in 1996 was a lot. I knew that some of the people at the get-together would be getting sacked and one of them could be me.

We were all on our best behaviour because we knew if the Grundy people took a dislike to us, we’d stand less of a chance of hanging on. I was wondering if they were just trying to work out who does what and if any jobs seemed surplus to requirements.

I did the night-time show which is a very vulnerable place to be at a radio station that’s looking to cut costs. RG Capital also owned radio stations in Queensland. There was a chance that if the Grundys found out we had our own live night-time show, they would shut it down and network a show that was already on one of their other stations. I didn’t want to give them any ideas so was in two minds as to whether to even go to the get-together. I thought I might be better off lying low until the heat’s off. I eventually decided to go but keep a low profile.

At the do, I moved around a lot, staying well out of the way of our VIPs. Unfortunately, I miss-timed a shuttle run between the bar and the buffet table and found myself face to face with a chief Grundy. He was standing next to my Programme Director who decided to introduce me. “This is Graham Mack, he’s our..” “Gardener” I interrupted. “I look after the landscaping here and keep the car park tidy”. “Really?” our guest said, “Well, it err, looks really err, good”, he said, looking at me sideways and nodding slowly. “Thank you”, I said as my Program Director at first tried to hide in the glass he was drinking from then quickly looked around and said, “Let me introduce you to our head of news” and ushered him away from me.

My show didn’t get networked and I kept my job.

Craic on!

You can hear what I sounded like on the air back then, here;

