How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 62.

22Apr14

Perception And Reality.

We didn’t own a car when I got the job presenting the night-time show at 2GO on the New South Wales Central Coast in 1995. I gave up my work van when I quit my air-conditioning job nearly three years earlier and took a massive pay cut to work at my first two radio jobs. We were saving up for a car but for now we walked everywhere.

We rented a flat in East Gosford which was only about a kilometre from the the radio station. It was a downhill walk to work in the afternoon and an uphill walk home when I finished my shift after midnight. Saturday was my one day off so Julie and I tried to make the most of it.

One of our favourite things to do was go for lunch in the garden bar at the Crowne Plaza Hotel on the seafront at Terrigal. It’s about five miles from East Gosford on the bus. The Crown Plaza is a posh hotel and the garden bar which is across the road from the beach looks out to sea. Sitting there, taking our time over a couple of cold beers and picking our way through one of their huge seafood platters, we felt like millionaires.

The Crowne Plaza did attract it’s fair share of posers. I remember one afternoon, we were sitting opposite a young couple. Everything they had on was ‘designer’, Gucci, Yves Saint Laurent, Ray-bans, the lot. They looked like those couples you see in adverts for watches in airline magazines. They were more interested in who was looking at them than anything else. Anyway, they looked at us over the top of their Wayfarers as if we were The Beverly Hillbillies.

Later, we were waiting at the bus stop on Terrigal Drive when they drove past us. I laughed my head off because they weren’t in a late model Porsche, Ferrari or Maserati, they were in a Ford panel van with the name of an electrical contractor written all over it. I turned to Julie and said, “Ha! They were looking down their noses at us as if they’re something special and they’re in an electrician’s van! The best part is they KNOW we’ve seen them, how embarrassing for them!”

Julie quickly brought me back down to earth. “Yes and they’ve seen us too, WAITING FOR THE BUS!”

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

