To Boldly Go!

24Mar14

Are you Spock or Kirk?

According to the theory of left-brain/right-brain dominance, each side of the brain controls different types of thinking. People are said to prefer one type of thinking over the other. A person who is “left-brained” is said to be more logical, analytical, and objective (Spock), and a person who is “right-brained” is said to be more intuitive, thoughtful, and subjective (Kirk).

I had a dream last night that I was the Program Director of a sports/talk radio station. We’d advertised for a new football pundit and a very successful internationally famous footballer had applied for the job. He was booked for an interview but on the day, he turned up late and was dressed in motorcycle leathers because he’d arrived on a dirt bike. I asked him why he wanted the job on the radio and he said something about it being a good way to hide some money from the tax man. I was a really big fan of this footballer but there was no way I was going to give him the job.

OK, it was only a dream but I know that if I was faced with the same decision in real life I would have done the same thing, I wouldn’t have hired him. In the dream, this superstar was willing to work for the small budget we had, his name alone would have generated tonnes of publicity for the radio station and we would have got plenty of new listeners and advertisers as a result. The logical thing to do would be to hire him but there’s no way I would have.

We may like to think that it’s our inner Spock that makes all of our important decisions but the captain of the Enterprise is Kirk.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

