How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 48.

13Mar14

Perception isn’t reality. 

When you’re on TV every night, you get stared at in public.

In 1994, I was presenting the Breakfast Show on 5SE, the local commercial radio station for the South East of South Australia. I was also on the telly every night presenting commercials for a car dealers and a supermarket. I remember standing at a crossing waiting for the lights to change so I could cross the road when a car drove past and I read the lips of the driver. She was staring straight at me and said “It’s Graham Mack!”

She obviously thought I was a big shot because I was on TV. The truth is, Julie and I were broke. A couple of years earlier, I’d been an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney. The pay was good and I had a work van. Now, we’d used up most of our savings putting me through radio school and then moving across Australia to find work on the radio. We only just got by on the money they paid at my first radio job, 2PK in New South Wales and now in Mount Gambier, South Australia I wasn’t getting that much more. The TV spots that were making me famous only paid $75 a spot. In a good week, I made four ads. We couldn’t afford to buy anywhere so we lived in a rented two bedroom flat.

The reason Mr Big-Shot was on the pavement waiting to cross the road that day was because, even though I was on the telly every night advertising cars for sale, we couldn’t afford a car.

Craic on!

Listen the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

