How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 42.

25Feb14

Radio is a very competitive game, that’s why radio people don’t like taking holidays.

In 1994, I was presenting the afternoon Drive show on 5SE Mount Gambier in South Australia. The Program Director was Pat Fleming, he was my boss. He also presented the Breakfast Show, the most important show on the station. I knew he loved presenting Breakfast. I was chuffed to bits when he asked me to fill in for him for two weeks while he took time off.

I had a great time, there’s something about Breakfast radio, it’s special. After my last show on the Friday, the big boss, the General Manager, asked me to go up and see him in his office on the top floor. When I got there, I was surprised to see Pat up there with him. It looked a lot like I was going to get fired.

The GM said, “I’ve been listening to the Breakfast Show for the last two weeks and I like what I’ve heard. He turned to my boss and said, I’m sorry Pat, but I want Graham to present the 5SE Breakfast show from now on”.

Awkward!

Craic on!

Listen to what I sounded like on 5SE here; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0j4SuS2vtHg

No Responses Yet to “How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 42.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

