Something to Rail Against

24Feb14

What annoys you the most about travelling by train? A list came out today of the top twenty things that we hate about travelling by rail. I was amazed to see that the thing that winds me most did not make the list. I hate being stuck next to the nutter, every train has one.

One thing that was on there though was, “people making too much noise”. That would be number two on my list. I remember being stuck on a train from Birmingham to Bristol once during the school holidays. I was on my way to a job interview so was tense to start with, then it began.

A full grown adult started them off, “If you’re happy and you know it clap your hands…” Then they all joined in. It sounded like more than twenty children shout-singing and clapping their hands as loud as they could.

By the time they got to, “If you’re happy and you know it, stamp your feet..” I’d had enough. I stood up and shouted, “IF YOU’RE HAPPY AND YOU KNOW IT, SHUT UP!!!!!”  When I sat down, there was silence but not the good kind. Everyone was looking at me.

It was then that I realised… I was the nutter on THAT train.

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

