How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 41.

23Feb14

Being British but working on the radio in Australia was always a bit tricky. In 1994 I got lucky, my boss, the Program Director at 5SE Mount Gambier was a bit of an Anglophile and understood my sense of humour.

His name was Pat Fleming and as well as being PD, he was the host of The Breakfast Show. He’d visited England and told me that the night before him and his mates flew out of Australia, they’d had a big party at his house. Pat got very drunk and fell asleep on the floor. While he was passed out, one of his ‘mates’ shaved his eyebrows off. When he woke up the next day and realised what had happened, he was surprised but no one could tell.

After meals on those long haul flights, Qantas flight attendants hand out warm damp towels for you to freshen up with. Pat told me that he hit the call button and when the trolley dolly appeared, he lifted his face from the towel and said, “Excuse me Miss, whatever is on this towel seems to have removed my eyebrows!”

Craic on!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk  

