George Clooney and the 911 Call

12Feb14

I upset a publicist today. It was all because of perspective.

I noticed I had an email with the subject line “Interview with George Clooney”. Hey, I’d LOVE to interview George Clooney so I clicked on it and was disappointed to find out that I was being offered a pre-recorded interview with George Clooney to play on JACK fm. I decided to chance my arm and started to type a reply saying that it wouldn’t be possible to play the interview on the air but if George was available, I’d like to set up a time to interview him myself. It was a long shot, I know, but hey if you don’t ask, you don’t get.

As I was writing the email, I took a phone call from another publicist who offered me the chance to interview 911. I said, “No thanks”. Instead of leaving it at that, the publicist said, “Why not?” I said, “Because we don’t play any of their music on JACK”. She replied with a loud one-word question, “REALLY?” Maybe it was because I was in the middle of arranging an interview with a Hollywood A-lister but instead of letting her down gently, I just said, “It’s not just JACKfm, NOBODY is playing 911.”. – She hung up.

