How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 34.

03Feb14

I thought I was going to get the sack every day of my first paid radio job. It was 1993 and I was hired to present the Breakfast Show at “Hits and Memories, 2PK” in the Central West of New South Wales. They started me on the afternoon/drive shift and moved me to Breakfast when I was “ready”. On my first Breakfast Show I messed up a paid live read, a funeral announcement. They moved me back to afternoons and I never did another weekday Breakfast Show on 2PK.

The Program Director went back to covering Breakfast, he hated the early starts. I knew they still needed a Breakfast Show host and as soon as they got one, I’d be surplus to requirements.

I recorded all of my shows at 2PK, cut together the best bits and sent them out with my CV to as many radio stations as I could find the address of. Every day I took a stack of padded envelopes to the post office, paid for the postage and bought another stack of new ones. Then I went home and called up the Program Directors I’d sent tapes to the previous week. I had so much audio out there and was on the phone to so many PDs, it was like I was running a syndication company.

I hung on to that first job at 2PK by the skin of my teeth and after nearly twelve months, I got an interview for a job over a thousand kilometres away. More on that in part 35.

You can listen to some of the stuff I did on 2PK here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aw3BYk04wCs

