How an air-conditioning mechanic in Sydney Australia became an award winning broadcaster in Britain Part 17.

12Dec13

The constant sound of dripping from the leaky tap in my room at The Palace Hotel is one of the lasting memories I have from the two weeks I spent in Kalgoorlie, Western Australia. In June 1993, I presented the 7pm to midnight shift on, “Rockin’ The Goldfields 6KG”.

I was sent there on my own as part of the course I was on at The Australian Film Television and Radio School. Kalgoorlie, known locally as “Kal” is on the western fringe of the Nullarbor Plain and the Great Victoria Desert. To get there I had to fly four and half hours west to Perth from Sydney on a Boeing 747 then I backtrack east to Kal which took another hour and a half on a much smaller turbo-prop aircraft. My wife Julie stayed in Sydney for the fortnight because I was 3396 kilometers away. Her parents were closer to her, only 2160 kilometers away in Whangarei, New Zealand. Julie and I were both in Australia but she was geographically closer to her parents who were in another country on the other side of the Tasman.

The general manager of 6KG, picked me up at the airport. We passed a golf course as we drove into town. I noticed the greens weren’t, well,  green. It’s dry in the outback and instead of irrigating them, they roll oil into the sand. The greens were actually a reddish brown and the bunkers were black.

There is no natural source of water in Kalgoorlie. All of the town’s water is piped 530 kilometers across the desert from just outside Perth, some of it, just to go down the plug hole in my hotel room.

Craic On!

Listen to the latest Mack Nuggets at http://www.mackmedia.co.uk

